History wrapped up in an interview.

When given the assignment to interview someone who was born before the 1970’s, I found it hard. All my grandparents had passed away a few years ago. When thinking of who I could then interview I thought my dad would be interesting. However, I grew up listening to his stories so I felt like maybe this would be just a recap of something I had already heard. My pops and IMeanwhile, after a long five minutes, I decided to just settle for my father instead of some random stranger I found walking down the street. People may that I thought it was a bad thing, however, it’s not. I love my father I just feel as if I could have had the oppurtunity to ask my grandparents about their life and the media growing up. Since the media started more in their time, I feel like they could help me understand my journey through the media even more. It is what it is though. Enough my whining. I had a great time interviewing my father. I learned many of things I didn’t know before. Guess it was a great thing I didn’t see a random stranger walking outside my house that day. My father, Steve, was born in 1957. He was the middle child and spent most of his childhood life on the road and moving. Like most people my father enjoyed music. However, in the 1960’s my father wasn’t old enough to appreciate music at all. He was living in New York at the time because his father (my grandfather) was stationed at a military base there. He lived not many miles away from where the infamous “Woodstock” took place. Like most people his parents didn’t agree with the Woodstock revolution. When anything came on the TV or radio it was asked to be turned off. However, like many children, when the parents weren’t looking he would tune in to find the latest that was happening. As my father said, “I would have loved to just jump in the car and drive by it all. It was such a huge piece of history that I feel like I missed out on. Thank goodness for the media. That was the closest I got.” There was one time though that his parents had the TV on and shocking news appeared. My father remembered it vividly. It was the news of Jimi Hendrix’s death. At that time my father was old enough to appreciate his music and he did just that. As he said, “I wish he didn’t die so young. I got to appreciate him but not the way I wanted too though.”

My father also said that he remembered the coverage from the Vietnam War. As mentioned, my grandfather was a soldier at the time. So if the TV or radio was on watching coverage it was mostly about that. My father said he would watch and listen every night hoping nothing would happen to his father. He would watch the soldiers and gain so much inspiration. As he said, “I’m so glad that the media covered the war in Vietnam. I felt like a piece of me was with my father while he was away. I’m just glad the good Lord brought him home safe to me.”

While listening to my father speak about what he remembered from the media and growing up began to wonder ‘how was their news coverage different from today, and what his opinions are on the media today?’ I guess this assignment has sparked further inspiration on finding out more on the media back in the day. Kudos to Jill Falk. I feel like there is so much more I can learn from my father. However, until next time.

Leave a Reply

